Sitemap | Glossary

Investor Relations

Home / Investor Relations / Management / Board Of Directors

Directors and Executive Officers

Name Position
Sir Frank Chapman Chairman
Kate Blankenship Director and Audit Committee Member
Tor Olav Trøim Director
Georgina Sousa Director and Company Secretary
Hans Petter Aas Director and Audit Committee Member

Sir Frank Chapman (Chairman of the Board)
Sir Frank Chapman has worked 40 years in the oil and gas industry culminating in a twelve-year period as Chief Executive of BG Group plc. Under Sir Frank’s leadership, BG Group grew from the modest UK-based Exploration and Production interests of the old British Gas into an international integrated oil and gas major. Operating profits grew from some $50 million in 1996 to more than $8 billion in 2012. Sir Frank is currently a non-executive director of Rolls-Royce plc and chairman of their safety and ethics committee. Sir Frank was knighted in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List for services to the oil and gas industries.

Kate Blankenship (Director and Audit Commitee member)
Kate Blankenship has served as a director since July 2003 and was Company Secretary from our inception in 2001 until November 2005. She served as our Chief Accounting Officer from May 2001 until May 31, 2003. She has been a director of Frontline since August 2003 and served as Chief Accounting Officer and Secretary of Frontline between 1994 and October 2005. Mrs. Blankenship has been Chief Financial Officer of Knightsbridge since April 2000 and was Secretary of Knightsbridge from December 2000 until March 2007. Mrs. Blankenship has served as a director of Ship Finance since July 2003, Seadrill since May 2005 and Golden Ocean since November 2004. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Tor Olav Trøim (Director)
Tor Olav Trøim has served as a director of the Company since September, 2011, having previously served as a director and vice-president of the Company from its incorporation in May 2001 until October 2009, after which time he served as a director and Chairman of the Company’s listed subsidiary, Golar LNG Energy Limited. Since January 2009 Tor Olav Trøim has also served on the Board of Directors of Golar LNG Partners LP, a Master Limited Partnership.

Mr Troim was Vice President and a director of Seadrill Limited between 2005 and 2014. Additionally between 1995 and 2014 he also served, at various times, as a director of a number of related public companies including Frontline Limited, Golden Ocean Group Limited, Archer Limited as well as Seatankers Management Limited. Prior to 1995 he served as an Equity Portfolio Manager with Storebrand ASA and Chief Executive Officer for the Norwegian Oil Company DNO AS. Mr. Trøim graduated as M.Sc Naval Architect from the University of Trondheim, Norway in 1985.

Georgina E. Sousa (Director and Company Secretary)
Mrs. Sousa has served as Secretary of Golar and its subsidiaries since November 30, 2005. She is also Head of Corporate Administration for Frontline Ltd. Up until January 2007, she was Vice-President-Corporate Services of Consolidated Services Limited, having joined the firm in 1993 as Manager of Corporate Administration. Mrs. Sousa also serves as a director for Frontline Ltd, Frontline 2012 Ltd and Golden Ocean Group Limited.

Hans Petter Aas (Director and Audit Committee Member)
Hans Petter Aas has been a director of the Company since September 2008. Mr. Aas has a long career as banker in the international shipping and offshore market, and retired from his position as Global Head of the Shipping, Offshore and Logistics Division of DnB NOR Bank ASA ("DnB NOR") in August 2008. He joined DnB NOR (then Bergen Bank) in 1989, and has previously worked for the Petroleum Division of the Norwegian Ministry of Industry and the Ministry of Energy, as well as for Vesta Insurance and Nevi Finance.


Share details Financial calendar

Company Presentation - March 2015

link to pressreleases link to presentations link to reports